Speaker hears disqualification petition, MLAs seek time to reply



Porvorim: Goa Legislative Assembly Speaker Rajesh Patnekar on Thursday heard disqualification petition filed by Congress Goa chief Girish Chodankar against ten state MLAs who had switched over from his party to BJP.

All the ten respondents (MLAs) and the petitioner appeared through their lawyers before him on Thursday.

All the ten petitioners have sought time to file their reply.

Chodankar has filed disqualification petition against ten congress MLAs who had switched over from Congress to BJP in July, 2019.

The petition is filed against Deputy Chief Minister Chandrakant Kavlekar and others including Atanasio Monserratte, Jeniffer Monserratte, Isidore Fernandes, Francis Silveira, Philip Nery Rodrigues, Cleofacio Dias, Wilfred D’Sa, Antonio Fernandes and Nilkant Halarnkar.

After the hearing on Thursday, Chodankar said that his lawyer pointed out to the Speaker that the recent Supreme court judgment has emphasized that disqualification petitions should be decided within a timeframe.

“The Speaker said he will take note of the SC judgment while deciding the time to be granted,” he said.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here