Eight candidates in the fray from North and South Goa seat each


Panaji/Margao: Eight candidates each are in the fray from North and South Goa Parliamentary constituency after the last date of withdrawal on Monday.

Goa has two parliamentary constituencies — North and South Goa.

As per the data available from Election Commission of India, eight candidates including three independents are in the fray from North Goa Parliamentary seat, which is currently held by BJP MP Shripad Naik.

While BJP has retained Naik as its candidate from the constituency, Congress has fielded former union minister Ramakant Khalap. Another serious contender in the fray is Manoj Parab, who is heading Revolutionary Goans Party, one of the youngest political outfit in the coastal state. Parab is contesting on RGP ticket.

Woman journalist Milan Vaigankar has filed her candidature on Bahujan Samaj Party ticket and Sakharam Naik on Akhil Bharatiya Parivar Party from North Goa.

Independents who are in the fray from North Goa includes Thomas Fernandes, Adv Vishal Naik and Shakil Jamal Sheikh.

The South Goa Parliamentary constituency which is currently represented by Congress MP Francisco Sardinha also has eight candidates in the fray.

Congress has refused ticket to Sardinha while fielding former naval officer Viriato Fernandes from the constituency. BJP has fielded business woman Pallavi Dempo while RGP has its young leader Rubert Pereira.

Woman medical practitioner Dr Sweta Gaonkar is contesting on Bahujan Samaj party ticket and Harishchandra Naik on Corruption Abolition party.

Three independents — Alexis Fernandes, Dr Kalidas Vaigankar and Deepkumar Mapari are also in the fray from South Goa parliamentary seat.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here