Pramod Sawant is new Chief Minister of Goa, eleven more ministers sworn in 



Panaji: After much of dillydallying, in a mid-night drama, BJP MLA Pramod Sawant was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Goa of the State to head the multi party coalition.

Governor also sworn in ten other ministers as a part of Sawant-led cabinet.

Interestingly, all the ministers who were part of erstwhile Manohar Parrikar-led cabinet were sworn in by the Governor.

MGP’s two MLAs – Sudin Dhavalikar and Manohar Ajgaonkar – were sworn in while Goa Forward party MLAs  Vijai Sardesai, Vinod Palekar and Jayesh Salgaonkar were sworn in.

BJP MLAs Mauvin Godinho, Vishwajit Rane, Milind Naik, Nilesh Cabral were also given oath of secrecy.

Independent MLAs Rohan Khaunte and Govind Gawade were also sworn in by Governor.

BJP National leader Nitin Gadkari was also present for the ceremony.

The new government was sworn in after BJP-led alliance led by Sawant produced support of 20 MLAs including 11 from BJP and three each from GFP, MGP and Independents.

All the MLAs supporting Sawant-led coalition were present for the swearing in ceremony.

Before taking oath as the CM, Sawant resigned from the post of Speaker of Goa Legislative Assembly.

Deputy Speaker Michael Lobo would be officiating as Speaker till elections for the post are held.

Goa witnessed hectic political activity after then Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar passed away on Sunday fighting a year long battle with pancreatic ailment.

BJP National leader Nitin Gadkari who began series of meetings with the coalition partners since Sunday finally managed to have consensus over the leadership of Sawant.

The post of deputy chief minister was offered to Sardesai who was Town and Country Planning minister in Parrikar-led cabinet.

Goa Governor Mridula Sinha in a late night ceremony at past 1 a.m. administered oath to Sawant and Sardesai at Raj Bhavan.

Sawant will now have to pass the floor test to prove his majority.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here