Politics to take front seat in Goa with announcement of LS, By-Poll dates


Panaji: The politics will take front seat till April 23 in Goa.

Election Commission of India has announced April 23 as the dates for Lok Sabha election on both the seats in the State along with by-elections for Shiroda, Mandrem and Mapusa constituencies.

Congress party has already shortlisted its names for Lok Sabha seat while it will also do for by-polls. The signs are clear that the party will field Mahadev Naik in Shiroda while for Mapusa and Mandrem, their stand is yet to be known.

AAP has already announced their candidates Elvis Gomes (South) and Pradeep Padgaonkar (North) for Lok Sabha, while they have maintained silence on by-elections.

BJP is likely to retain both its sitting MPs – Shripad Naik (North) and Narendra Sawaikar (South). They will field Subhash Shirodkar (Shiroda), Dayanand Sopte (Mandrem) while race for Mapusa ticket is hot with Joshua D’Souza, Rupesh Kamat, Sudhir Kandolkar amongst the contenders.

MGP has already announced Dipak Dhavalikar as their candidate from Shiroda while they have said that they will be contesting in Mandrem by-election.

Goa Forward party has cleared that they will not be fielding any candidates but are with the State government.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here