Rajesh Patnekar defeats Pratapsinh Rane to become Speaker of Goa Assembly


Porvorim: BJP MLA Rajesh Patnekar was elected to the post of Speaker defeating his rival candidate Pratapsinh Rane of Congress party in the election held on Tuesday.

Goa Governor Mridula Sinha had called for a special session to elect new speaker, the post of which was vacant after Pramod Sawant resigned from it to take over as chief minister of the state.

Deputy Speaker Michael Lobo was officiating as the Speaker since the time Sawant had resigned from the post.

Patnekar who was a candidate of NDA polled 22 votes as against Rane who got only 16 votes in the 40 member House. The election was held with the headcount, while Lobo could not vote as he was chairing the proceedings of the House.

While Goa Forward Party and three Independents voted in favour of Patnekar, Congress candidate polled 15 votes from his party and one from MGP. NCP MLA Churchill Alemao was not present for voting on the floor of the House.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here