Congress list: Mahadev Naik for Shiroda, Sudhir Kandolkar in Mapusa


Panaji: Former BJP Minister Mahadev Naik is amongst the Congress candidates, whose names were announced on Friday for  upcoming Goa Assembly by-election scheduled on April 23.

Naik, who had quit BJP, last month, will contest from his traditional Shiroda Assembly segment in North Goa. Rahul Gandhi led party also announced candidature of Sudhir Kandolkar from Mapusa Assembly seat.

All India Congress Committee General Secretary Mukul Wasnik in a statement released in New Delhi has cleared the names of both the leaders, who are coincidently imported from BJP in the party.

The name of candidate for Mandrem by-election is yet to be announced by the party.

The elections in Shiroda and Mandrem Assembly Constituencies was necessitated after respective MLAs left Congress to join BJP. The poll in Mapusa assembly constituency was due following death of BJP MLA Francis D’Souza.

BJP has already announced their candidates for the by-election. Subhash Shirodkar of BJP will take on Naik at Shiroda while Joshua D’Souza will contest against Kandolkar.

BJP leader Dayanand Sopte would be contesting from Mandrem Assembly Constituency.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here