All four newly elected MLAs sworn in 


Panaji: The strength of Goa Legislative Assembly was restored to 40 after the swearing in of four members on Tuesday, who had got elected during recently concluded by-elections.
Acting Speaker Michael Lobo gave oath to all the four MLAs , which includes three from BJP and one of Congress. Chief Minister Pramod Sawant was amongst the dignitaries present for the swearing in ceremony held on Wednesday at Assembly complex.
Subhash Shirodkar (BJP, Shiroda), Dayanand Sopte (BJP, Mandrem), Joshua D’Silva (BJP, Mapusa) and Atanasio Monserratte (Congress, Panaji) were sworn in as members of the House.
With the swearing in, the strength of the House, which was reduced to 36 has been restored back to 40. BJP with 17 MLAs is the largest political party followed by Congress with 15.
Goa Forward Party and Independents are three each while one is from NCP and MGP respectively. Sawant-led government has a support of 24 MLAs from Goa Forward Party, Independents and MGP. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here