16 for Lok Sabha, 27 for Assembly by-elections in Goa



Panaji: In all 16 candidates have filed their candidature for two Lok Sabha Constituencies in Goa, which will go for polls on April 23.

On the other hand, total 27 candidates have filed their nominations for  by-elections in Shiroda, Mandrem and Mapusa Assembly Constituencies, a senior official from Chief Electoral Office said.

Both – North and South Goa – Parliamentary seats has 16 candidates in fray including that from major political parties like Congress, BJP, Shiv Sena and AAP.

Eight candidates have filed their nomination from North, while similar number has filed from South Goa.

Thursday was the last day to file the nomination, while the election officials will conduct scrutiny of the applications on Friday.

In the by-elections, Congress, BJP, AAP and Goa Suraksha Manch have fielded their candidates.

Mapusa Assembly Constituency is having largest number of candidates with eleven of them filing their nominations.

The constituency where election necessitated due to demise of former BJP MLA Francis D’Souza, has his son, Joshua filing candidature on Amit Shah-led party’s ticket while Congress has fielded popular local political Sudhir Kandolkar against him.

Shiroda Assembly constituency has nine candidates including Subhash Shirodkar of BJP, Mahadev Naik of Congress and Deepak Dhavalikar of MGP. The election was evinced here after Shirodkar left Congress to join BJP.

Similarly in Mandrem Assembly Constituency, there are seven candidates including Dayanand Sopte of BJP, whose resignation from Congress, necessitated the election, while Congress has fielded its leader Babi Bagkar.

The last date for withdrawals is April 8.  The voting will take place on April 23 between 7.00am to 6.00pm.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here