Subhash Shirodkar wins Shiroda


Panaji: BJP candidate Subhash Shirodkar won the election for Shiroda assembly constituency by a margin of mere 66 votes defeating his nearest rival Deepak Dhavalikar of MGP, a senior election officer said.

Shirodkar who was sitting Congress MLA had resigned in October last year to join BJP, due to which the by-election was necessitated in this constituency located in South District.

The votes for this constituency were counted at the centre in Margao town of South Goa.

Shirodkar polled 10661 votes against his rival Dhavalikar who polled 10585 votes.

Dhavalikar refused to go for recounting of votes though the margin was slim, the official said.

Congress candidate Mahadev Naik stood third after the counting polling 2402 votes.

AAP candidate Yogesh Khandeparkar polled 231 votes and Goa Suraksha Manch candidate Santosh Satarkar polled 284 votes.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here