St Cruz Sarpanch Jeniffer de Oliveira, Deputy Elson Braganza served no confidence motion


St Cruz: The Congress seems to have lost hold over St Cruz panchayat body with six panch members signing no confidence motion against Sarpanch Jeniffer de Oliveira and Deputy Elson Braganza.

Six panch members — Rosy Gonsalves E Fernandes, Peter Apolino De Araujo, Inacio Domnic Pereira, Sandeep Sawant, Luisa Anthon Fernandes and Lafira Santan De Oliveira — have signed the motion which is submitted before Block Development Officer of Tiswadi Taluka.

The motion was moved after independent Panch member Inacio Pereira withdrew his support from the ruling penal citing several reasons.
Pereira had extended his support to the panel on August 22, 2022.

In the letter submitted to the Secretary of the panchayat, Pereira has said that the Sarpanch failed to take him into confidence when necessary decisions were taken for the village.

He has also said that the current ruling panchayat body ha no vision or will in taking up developmental works for the village of St Cruz and many files are pending before the Government department for the last 10 months which are never followed up.

Pereira said that the construction of new panchayat and community hall building issue has not been followed up with the Government.
“It appears to me that the current ruling panchayat body is not wiling to work for the betterment of its people or allow me to work for the betterment of the people and I feel this is injustice to my voters and villagers of St Cruz panchayat, hence I withdraw my support,” Pereira has said.

The no confidence motion by majority panch members has come as a major set back for the Congress party and its leader Tomy Oliveira whose wife was elected as the Sarpanch.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here