Goa Forward felicitates Goan youth representing state in National Youth Parliament


Panaji: Goa Youth Forward on Tuesday felicitated two Goan youth – Krishna Palyekar and Virginia D’Mello – for representing Goa in National Youth Parliament.

Goa Forward Party Vice Presidents Renuka da Silva and Durgadas Kamat along with Goa Youth Forward president Raj Malik and Mahila President of Siolim Reshal Arporkar,  Goa Youth Forward Vice President Pooja Naik and General Secretary Lalana Gimonkar felicitated Krishna Palyekar and Virginia D’Mello.

Both the youth stated that they had to compete with Maharashtra youth to get selected as Goa was clubbed with the neighbouring State.

“It is unfortunate that despite Goa getting statehood, it is clubbed with Maharashtra. Our Party President Vijai Sardesai will take up the issue with Union Ministry of Youth Affairs so that Goa will have separate selection rounds,” Kamat said.

He said that it is worth appreciating that despite clubbed with neighbouring State, Goa youths outshined in the competition.

Goa Youth Forward President Raj Malik congratulated Krishna and Virginia for their achievement and ensured that the issue about separate selection round for Goa would be taken up on priority with centre.

Krishna Palyekar said that the concept of Youth Parliament is worth appreciating as  it gives us opportunity to represent in the youth in the parliament.

“This is a stepping stone for entry into Parliamentary democracy. No one took cognizance of our success, I am thankful that Goa Youth Forward took note and gave us the recognition,” he said.

Virginia D’Mello thanked Union government for giving opportunity to represent talent at the national level.

“What I spoke about was that we have to find opportunities that will take us somewhere. I feel that every opportunity that we get we should grab it, and make best out of it. I felt that it is nice that one get opportunity like this,” she said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here