Francis Sardinha is MP South


Margao: Congress party won South Goa Parliamentary seat defeating sitting BJP candidate, while Amit Shah-led party is all set to retain North Goa seat with its candidate and Union AYUSH Minister Shripad Naik leading with a huge margin.

Congress candidate Francis Sardinha defeated BJP contestant Narendra Sawaikar in South Goa, wrestling the seat, after a gap of five years. Sardinha is a former Member of Parliament which had represented the Parliamentary constituency in the past.

 Sardinha polled 181340 votes as against Sawaikar who polled 166072 votes.

 Congress candidate won with the margin of 15,268 votes against BJP candidate.

AAP candidate Elvis Gomes polled 19304 votes while Shiv Sena candidate Rakhi Prabhudesai Naik got 1503 votes.

 Independent candidate Kalidas Vaigankar polled 1215 votes and Mayur Kankonkar got 1463 votes.

 Total 70.15 per cent people had voted in this parliamentary constituency for 2019 elections as against 75.17 per cent during 2014 polls.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here