30 C
Wednesday, January 19, 2022

Avoiding duplication, MGP withdraws one of its disqualification petition

Latest Hub Encounter


Porvorim: Goa Legislative Assembly Speaker Rajesh Patnekar on Wednesday summoned MGP MLA Sudin Dhavalikar, who has filed disqualification petitions against his former party MLAs.

Dhavalikar has filed disqualification petition before the Speaker against Manohar Ajgaonkar (state touris minister) and Deepak Pauskar (state Public Works Department Minister) for defecting from the party and joining BJP.

The Speaker has heard arguments from the petitioner and the respondents over the petition on February 28 and the verdict has been kept reserved.

Dhavalikar, who appeared before the Speaker on Wednesday afternoon, said that he had filed two different disqualification petitions against the same MLAs.

“The Speaker asked me to withdraw one of the petition, while another was retained as valid,” the MLA said.

Dhavalikar said that  speaker will pronounce his verdict anytime from now.

Pauskar and Ajgaonkar had left MGP in March 2019 to join BJP where they were inducted in Pramod Sawant-led cabinet.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles

- Advertisement -