28.4 C
Tuesday, May 17, 2022

VMC, Phoenix Club organise blood donation camp Devendra Gaonkar


Latest On Hub Encounter

Latest on Passay

Sattari:Valpoi Municipal Council (VMC) in collaboration with Phoenix Socio Cultural Association (PSCA) organized a blood donation camp at Valpoi on Sunday.
Speaking at the function as chief guest, VMC Chairperson, Shaizin Shaikh said donating blood is considered a noble act, as it saves life in an emergency. Goa Medical College DEAN, Dr Shivanand Bandekar, DHS director, Dr Joe D’Sa, CHC medical officer, Dr Sham Kankonkar, Councillors, Sayyad Sarfaraz, Vinod Haldankar, Vaciyuddin Sayed and PSCA President, Abdulla Khan.

Speaking further Shaizin said “Considering the shortage of blood during pandemic time VMC thought of organizing blood donation and with the support of PSCA we have organized this camp and looking at the overwhelming response we are looking forward to such camps in near future” said Shaikh. Around 90 voluntary donors including the VMC Chairperson, Shaizin Shaikh and VMC councillor, Sarfaraz Sayyad donated blood at the camp.

Dr. D’Sa said “I am happy to see the response of donors, especially women coming forward to donate blood and it is very much appreciated”. He urged people to debunk the myths related to blood donation and work for the cause. He lauded the efforts of VMC and PSCA for organizing blood donation camps and extended his full support for such a cause. Meanwhile, Dr. Shivanad Bandekar announced that every donor now will be given a batch which will be a gesture of social recognition for his or her effort of donating blood. He said, “There is no doubt that people are coming forward in large numbers to donate blood, every healthy person should donate blood regularly without waiting for emergency”.

Earlier, 15 donors including Parag Khadilkar, Mubarak Shaikh, Nayeem Pareshwadi, Tanvi Karpe, Luiza Ribeiro, Krishna Mane, Haider Ali Shaikh, Siraj Khan, Mithun Martin, Rahat Shaikh, Subhani Vardee, Pradeep Gaundalkar, Parshuram Mane, Sudesh Narvekar and Makrand Velignkar were felicitated at the hands of dignitaries.
Meanwhile, Sarfaraz Sayyad welcomed the guest and the gathering while Majida Aga and Tehrin Beig compared the function. Abdulla Khan proposed a vote of thanks.

triumph-high school-ad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles

- Advertisement -spot_img
- Advertisement -spot_img