One has to know these facts about Panaji Assembly segment


Panaji: As we are going to witness high-octane contest in Panaji Assembly segment on May 19, these are the interesting facts that one should know about this segment.

So here we go:

  1. The first election for Panaji Assembly constituency was held in 1967
  2. Yeshwant Desai of United Goans Superia Group was first MLA of Panaji
  3. Babani Naik won 1972 Panaji Election on MGP ticket
  4. Madhav Bir won 1977 Panaji Election on Janata Party ticket
  5. Vishnu Naik on 1980 Panaji Election as Independent candidate
  6. Joan Gonsalves of Congress won two elections 1984 and 1989
  7. Manohar Parrikar was longest serving MLA of Panaji
  8. Manohar Parrikar served for 25 years as Panaji MLA
  9. Siddharth Kunkolienkar got elected two times in Panaji
  10. Upcoming is 5th Election in Panaji constituency since 2012.
  11.  2007 was the only election when Panaji witnessed straight fight
  12. 2007 Election saw Parrikar (BJP) versus Dinar Tarcar (Cong)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here