MGP announces its first list of candidates, includes Dhavalikar brothers


Panaji: Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party on Friday announced the first list of ten candidates for upcoming Goa polls which includes the candidature of party chief Deepak Dhavalikar.

MGP has forged a pre-poll alliance with Trinamool Congress Party for February 14 Goa Legislative Assembly election.

As per the list which was released on Friday, Dhavalikar will contest from Priol Assembly constituency while his brother and current MLA Sudin Dhavalikar will contest from his traditional Marcaim seat.

Praveen Zantye, former BJP MLA who had recently joined MGP will contest from Mayem Assembly constituency, while union leader Balaji Gauns, who fought for resumption of mining activity will contest from Sanvordem constituency.

The other candidates includes Jit Arolkar (Mandrem), Rajan Korgaonkar (Pernem), Naresh Sawal (Bicholim), Vishwesh Prabhu (Valpoi), Dr Ketan Bhatikar (Ponda) and Sanket Naik Mule (Shiroda).

MGP had won on three seats Marcaim, Pernem and Sanvordem during 2017 Goa Legislative Assembly polls. Two of its MLAs Deepak Pauskar (Sanvordem) and Manohar Ajgaonkar (Pernem) had left the party in the year 2019 to join BJP.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here