ISRO’S DR Mathavaraj selected for first Manohar Parrikar yuva scientist award


Panaji: The first Manohar Parrikar yuva scientist award will be presented to Dr Mathavaraj S of the U R Rao Satellite Centre of ISRO on December 13, chief minister Pramod Sawant announced.

The selection committee headed by Dr Anil Kakodkar has selected Dr Mathavaraj, who designed the powered descent trajectory of Chandrayaan3 mission for the prestigious award.

In his post on X handle, Sawant on Friday wrote “ 1st Manohar Parrikar Yuva Scientist Award is out. Dr. Anil Kakodkar who chaired the Expert Committee of selection of Yuva Scientist has handed over the results to me this evening.”

He further said “Happy to announce that the award has gone to the person who designed the powered decent (descent) trajectory of #Chandrayaan3 Mission that had successfully landed on the South Pole of the moon.”

Sawant announced “The award recipient is Dr. Mathavaraj S of the U R Rao Satellite  Centre @isro. There were 106 applicants out of which 14 were shortlisted.”

He said that the award comprises of 5 lakhs rupees and a citation, which is currently the highest cash prize in science and technology.

“The award will be presented at Manohar Parrikar Vigyan Mahotsav at NIO on 13th December 2023 i.e. birth anniversary of our beloved Dr. Manohar Parrikar (Bhai),” the chief minister added.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here