Congress urges Goa speaker to decide expeditiously on disqualification petition against eight MLAs


Panaji: Goa Pradesh Congress Committee President Amit Patkar on Monday wrote to Speaker of Goa Assembly Ramesh Tawadkar urging him to decide expeditiously on the pending disqualification petitions against 8 MLAs, who shifted from Congress to BJP in September 2022.

The letter by Patkar mentions that the disqualification petition was filed on December 6, 2022 against eight MLAs who shifted from Congress to BJP in September 2022. Patkar has urged the Speaker to decide on the petitions in a time bound manner.

The Congress chief has pointed out that the Speaker has recently dismissed the disqualification petition filed by him against Digambar Kamat and Michael Lobo.
Patkar pointed out that another petition on all the eight MLAs is pending with the Speaker.

Patkar has urged the Speaker of Goa Legislative Assembly to disqualify Michael Lobo, Digambar Kamat, Aleixo Sequeira, Sankalp Amonkar, Rodolfo Fernandes, Delilah Lobo, Rajesh Faldessai and Kedar Naik for violating tenth Schedule of Constitution of India.

“I will explore all legal remedies if the Speaker continues to delay on deciding on the Petition pending before him,” he said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here