BJP MLA Ramesh Tawadkar elected as Speaker of Goa Legislative Assembly


Panaji: BJP MLA Ramesh Tawadkar was elected as the Speaker of Goa Legislative Assembly defeating Congress candidate Aleixo Sequeira.

When the Assembly session began on Tuesday, Pro-tem Speaker Ganesh Gaonkar moved the motion on the election for the Speaker. BJP-led group had fielded Tawadkar for the post of Speaker while opposition benches had fielded Aleixo Sequeira for the post.



The two-day-long Assembly session began on Tuesday.

Tawadkar won with the majority votes on the floor of the House defeating Sequeira.

Chief Minister Pramod Sawant and senior member of the House Digambar Kamat escorted the newly elected Speaker to the seat.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here