Congress backed Councillor Landry Mascarenhas elected Chairperson of Cuncolim Municipal Council


Margao:- Congress backed Councillor Landry Mascarenhas was elected as the Chairperson of Cuncolim Municipal Council by 9-3 votes in 14 Members Council defeating BJP backed Councillor Vishal Dessai. The results exposed vertical split in the BJP Panel with two Councillors among the four from the BJP backed panel remaining absent during the voting.

“We will work for development of Cuncolim. I thank all the eight councillors who voted for me and also thank our supremo former Minister Joaquim Alemao and Leader of Opposition Yuri Alemao for their support. I am sure Cuncolim MLA will extend his full cooperation to us”, stated newly elected Chairperson Landry Mascarenhas.

In a surprised move, the BJP backed Councillors Polita Carneiro and Rupa Gaonkar remained absent during the voting today. This development has further strengthened the Congress Panel.

“I congratulate the newly elected Chairperson Landry Mascarenhas and also compliment all the nine Councillors who remained united. I will extend my full cooperation to the new Chairperson”, stated Cuncolim MLA & Leader of Opposition Yuri Alemao.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here