BJP loses its both the deputy chief ministers


Panaji: Both the Deputy chief ministers in Pramod Sawant led government lost the election to their nearest Congress rivals.

Deputy chief minister Manohar Ajgaonkar was defeated by Leader of Opposition and Congress leader Digambar Kamat by a huge margin of almost 6,000 votes in Margao assembly constituency.

Ajgaonkar who has been traditionally contesting from Pernem assembly constituency inNorth Goa was fielded by the party in Margao assembly constituency in South Goa.

The constituency has been represented by Kamat since the year 1994.

In yet another shock, second deputy chief minister in Pramod Sawant cabinet, Chandrakant Kavlekar, lost to Congress candidate Altone D’Costa.

Kavlekar has been representing Quepem assembly constituency and had won 2017 election on Congress ticket. He had shifted to BJP in the year 2019 along with nine others.

D’Costa, a first timer in the constituency, defeated Kavlekar with a margin of more than 3,000 votes.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here